Who we are

ColegauCymru / CollegesWales is the national organisation representing all 14 further education (FE) colleges and institutions in Wales. Created in 1993 as an educational charity and a company limited by guarantee, it was known as "fforwm" until its renaming in 2009.

CollegesWales offices are based in Tongwynlais, Cardiff, where the core staff is based, and a small team of consultants.

Through CollegesWales, colleges are represented on various committees, working parties and other groups that influence and shape policy in post-16 education and life-long learning. In the main, CollegesWales' senior staff serve as the representatives on these groups. Individual board members, principals, and senior staff from member colleges may also be nominated by the CollegesWales board, chief executive, or by a CollegesWales network to represent colleges on particular areas of policy or committees.

Management & Governance

The charity's trustees ensure the financial viability of ColegauCymru / CollegesWales and provides strategic direction.

The board of directors is made up of college principals, one of whom is elected Chair and one of whom is elected Deputy Chair. The board also includes two Chairs of Governing Bodies as observers.

  1. Financial Statements - Colleges Wales / Colegau Cymru Limited Consolidated accounts 31 July 2015
  2. ColegauCymru’s Articles of Association – 12 May 2014
  3. Board of Directors Declaration of Interests Register 2015/16
  4. Board of Directors Code of Conduct
Judith Evans

Judith Evans (Chair)

Principal, Coleg y Cymoedd


Dafydd Evans

Chief Executive, Grŵp Llandrillo Menai



Mark Dacey

Mark Dacey

Principal and Chief Executive, NPTC Group


Mark Isherwood

Mark Isherwood

Chief Executive, Adult Learning Wales


Mike James

Mike James

Principal, Cardiff and Vale College


David Jones OBE

David Jones OBE

Principal and Chief Executive, Coleg Cambria


Mark Jones

Mark Jones

Principal, Gower College Swansea



Guy Lacey

Guy Lacey

Principal, Coleg Gwent


Barry Liles

Barry Liles

Principal and Chief Executive, Coleg Sir Gâr



Mark Leighfield

Mark Leighfield

Principal, St David's Catholic College


Sharron Lusher

Sharron Lusher

Principal, Pembrokeshire College



John O'Shea

John O'Shea

Principal, Merthyr Tydfil College


Simon Pirotte

Simon Pirotte

Principal, Bridgend College



Jacqui Weatherburn  Principal, Coleg Ceredigion

Jacqui Weatherburn

Principal, Coleg Ceredigion

Email: weatherburnj@ceredigion.ac.uk

John Clutton

John Clutton (Observer)

Chair of the Governing Body, Coleg Cambria


Staff

The majority of the staff are based at ColegauCymru's premises in Tongwynlais, Cardiff.

In addition, consultants deliver a range of services, including coordination of networks for senior staff in colleges and undertaking research on projects led by CollegesWales on behalf of external organisations.

CEO Iestyn Davies

Iestyn Davies

Chief Executive

Iestyn is responsible for:

  • overall leadership of CollegesWales as a college representative body;
  • raising the profile of colleges and of CollegesWales with key decision-makers;
  • reporting directly to the Board of Directors;
  • ensuring CollegesWales maintains its financial viability.

Email: Iestyn.Davies@collegeswales.ac.uk

Carolyn Thomas

Carolyn Thomas

Director of Finance

Carolyn is responsible for:

Financial management/control of CollegesWales and fforwm Services Limited.

Email: Carolyn.Thomas@collegeswales.ac.uk


Julie Osman

Julie Osman

Director of Business Administration / Company Secretary

Email: Julie.Osman@collegeswales.ac.uk

Claire Roberts

Claire Roberts

Director of Engagement

Email: Claire.Roberts@collegeswales.ac.uk

Rachel Bowen Director of Policy and Development

Rachel Bowen

Director of Policy and Development

Email: Rachel.Bowen@collegeswales.ac.uk

Sian Holleran

Sian Holleran

International Coordinator

Sian is responsible for ColegauCymru's international arm

CollegesWales (Uk) International

Email: Sian.Holleran@collegeswales.ac.uk

Filippo Compagni

Filippo Compagni

European and International Coordinator

Email: Filippo.Compagni@collegeswales.ac.uk

Rob Baynham

Rob Baynham

Sports Coordinator

Email: Rob.Baynham@collegeswales.ac.uk

Llinos Thomas Communications Officer

Llinos Thomas

Communications Officer

Email: Llinos.Thomas@collegeswales.ac.uk

Gill Barclay

Gill Barclay

Finance Officer

Email: Gill.Barclay@collegeswales.ac.uk


Amy Evans Receptionist/Administrator

Amy Evans

Receptionist/Administrator

Email: Amy.Evans@collegeswales.ac.uk

Mike Jones

Mike Jones

Pathway Leader for the MA Leadership and Management (FE)

Mike is responsible for:

  • liaising with University of South Wales on all matters relating to the MA Leadership and Management (FE) and the Postgraduate Certificate in Leadership and Management.
  • coordinating the teaching, learning and assessments relating to the MA and PgCert.

These programmes are drawing to a close in autumn 2016

Email: Mike.Jones@collegeswales.ac.uk

Adrian Sheehan

Adrian Sheehan

Consultant

Adrian is primarily responsible for working with Welsh, UK and European partners on ensuring quality assurance and transferability of qualifications throughout European nations.

Email: Adrian.Sheehan@collegeswales.ac.uk

Gavin Thomas

Gavin Thomas

Consultant

Key responsibilities:

  • Advising CollegesWales and colleges on issues surrounding curriculum, standards, governance, management and quality
  • Delivering core elements of the MA Leadership and Management (FE)

Email: Gavin.Thomas@collegeswales.ac.uk

Lyndon Evans

Lyndon Evans

Consultant

Lyndon is responsible for coordinating the following networks:

  • Estates
  • Health and Safety
  • European
  • IT Systems network

Email: Lyndon.Evans@collegeswales.ac.uk

Katy Burns

Katy Burns

Consultant

Katy is project managing a programme of CPD for staff in the post-16 education and training sector in preparation for new GCSEs and essential skills qualifications.

She is also responsible for coordinating the following networks:

  • Outreach
  • Learners with Learning Difficulties and/or Disabilities (LLDD)
  • Student Services
  • Essential Skills Wales

Email: Katy.Burns@collegeswales.ac.uk

Staff

Tony Leahy

Consultant

Tony is responsible for coordinating the following networks:

  • Landbased
  • Construction
  • Engineering

Email: Tony.Leahy@collegeswales.ac.uk

Phil Witney

Phil Whitney

Consultant

Phil is the National Contact Point for the European Quality Assurance for Vocational Education and Training (EQAVET)

Email: Phil.Whitney@collegeswales.ac.uk

Our members

All of Wales' 14 further education (FE) colleges and institutions in Wales are members of ColegauCymru / CollegesWales.

Throughout our website, the terms 'college' and 'FE college' are used to cover all types of FE colleges and FE institutions.

Find a college

Introduction to the colleges